Danes looking to redress the balance

Danes looking to redress the balance

Two years is a long time in any sport and in terms of badminton team events it has seen the dominance that Denmark has traditionally had in all European team events being eroded by their near neighbours Germany. The Germans defeated Denmark only a few weeks ago in Russia at the 2013 European Mixed Team Championships and just over a year ago the German ladies lifted the 2012 European Women’s Team Championships event in Amsterdam again consigning Denmark to the runners up spot.

Two years ago in Vantaa, Finland the U19 team from Germany lifted the European Junior Team Championships title which was the catalyst for the German revival. All that means is that Denmark, for the first time in recent history, have a minority stake holding with only two of the European Team Championships in their possession a statistic that they will be going all out to change in Ankara, Turkey in between 22nd and 26th March.
Continue reading

Location of the European Championships

Location of the European Championships

The table below gives an overview of all host cities and countries of the European Championships.

On January 15, 2008, Manchester of England won the bids to stage the 2010 events.[1]

Year No. Host City Country
1968 I Bochum  West Germany
1970 II Port Talbot  Wales
1972 III Karlskrona  Sweden
1974 IV Vienna  Austria
1976 V Dublin  Ireland
1978 VI Preston  England
1980 VII Groningen  Netherlands
1982 VIII Böblingen  West Germany
1984 IX Preston  England
1986 X Uppsala  Sweden
1988 XI Kristiansand  Norway
1990 XII Moscow  Soviet Union
Year No. Host City Country
1992 XIII Glasgow  Scotland
1994 XIV Den Bosch  Netherlands
1996 XV Herning  Denmark
1998 XVI Sofia  Bulgaria
2000 XVII Glasgow  Scotland
2002 XVIII Malmö  Sweden
2004 XIX Geneva  Switzerland
2006 XX Den Bosch  Netherlands
2008 XXI Herning  Denmark
2010 XXII Manchester  England
2012 XXIII Karlskrona  Sweden